Yeeeeeee Haaaaaaaaa

I have become smitten! I am in awe of Wyoming’s  looks! We’ve been “discovering” Wyoming in all its moods.

Let’s start with the Bighorns, themselves. I’ve been looking at an area on the Bighorns that holds snow a lot earlier than other parts of the mountains. Never thought much of it because mountains can vary  in geological makeup. However, today we went South of Sheridan toward Big Horn. Right up near the area that was white. Yes, the mountain did hold snow on its flanks. However as I looked at it fully, I began to discover that there were trees on these hills also – Dead trees! This area had hoards of dead trees – whether by fire or beetle kill I don’t know – but its next door hill had live trees! See Below:

Standing Dead Wood

Standing Dead Wood

The bottom picture is one from several days ago which shows how bare of trees those areas are, and how quickly they take on snow..

More Majestic Mountains

More Majestic Mountains

I love making these kinds of discoveries because it allows me to see how what we see when we first observe something can taker on more meaning once we discover its history.

Another interesting scenery happens as the land rises to the hills:

Water Shedding Trails

Water Shedding Trails

I find it interesting how the mountains have been worn by what look like rivulets. All of the rivulets come cascading down to the valley floors resulting in flooding at times. Because of the Colorado floods, it is hard not to feel intimidated.

Another type of emerging foothills is below:

Sand unto Hills

Sand unto Hills

The color of the land leaves one to imagine the hills emerging from sand. The folds in the land are beautiful.

Our Oceanic Land

Our Oceanic Land

I remember hearing from old Western stories about how the prairies looked like oceans of grasses. Well, Wyoming’s land itself out east of the Big Horns is  waves of land! When you blend that with Partly Cloudy Sun, it becomes completely beautiful and awe inspiring!

Farthest Vistas

Farthest Vistas

This is the image I got when I tried to capture the farthest lands I could get. After this, the Sun changed and we could no longer see the farthest mesa from our outlook (the same point on the hill I discovered the Standing Dead Wood.
I am bowled over by the views and the far vistas. And viewing the sight goes far beyond what I thought I would ever see!!

YeeeHaaaw is my Celebration yell for winding up in such a GORGEOUS place! And we slowly will get to discover it.

5 thoughts on “Yeeeeeee Haaaaaaaaa

  1. yowza that is some gorgeous landscapes!! I think I read in a Craig Johnson novel that there is a real beetle problem killing trees in mass droves in Wyoming! So fascinating to see you living in the places we’ve been reading about! When we were driving home from Yellowstone (when we were with you there) I remember pulling my truck over in Jackson Wyoming as the view gripped me by the throat and demanded I stop! The Teton mountains…snake river…the rolling fields…I can honestly say it was the most beautiful place I have ever seen!!

    • Kat, I love sharing experiences! I really love this place! We went down to Casper because we hadn’t been there yet – all the way down and back we were listening to a Walt longmire mystery!!! Hehehe! Talk about pampered!! The road to Casper was breathtaking. The scenery was spectacular! My camera did not do the light correctly for some reason, so we will take pics later!

Leave a comment