The Longest Gap

Well, I guess you can tell, I had a l-o-n-g gap in posting. We moved. I forgot how totally consuming it is to try to move in a short amount of time (the last move was l-o-n-g and slow and monumental.)

One of my biggest problems: two days into the move, I misplaced my camera. Given the state of the rental house and our new house – I had to give up any thought of spending time to find it.

Great items:

1) We left the rental house very clean (moreso than when we moved in.)

2) We keep falling in love with the design of the house and the comfort within it!

Fun (for us) items:

Antelope live up the street from us! Yes, we are still suckers for wildlife!!! (We don’t have the scopes out (yet), but we love seeing all wildlife!) To date we have seen Antelope, Mule Deer, Bald Eagles, & Crows. We’ve heard there’s a prairie dog town in the area where you see the antelope in the picture below. Can’t wait to take pics!

Antelopehill

Our Native Neighbors

The task of unpacking is intense, but there are certain accomplishments that count!

IMGP1151

Getting the books onto the shelves and the train in place.

Those of you who assisted us in this gargantuan move from WA  (Three trips, three storage units) know the enormity of what we have to sort thru! Moving in means that we are sorting, trashing, and getting ready to garage sale items – all at the same time!

Whew! what an adventure!

Things I’m grateful for:

A garage (limited scraping of snow off the vehicle unless the truck is moved outside to make way for boxes)

More variation in temperatures in February (We’ve gotten up to 59 degrees here one day40’s, at least 8 days) December and January were much C-o-l-d-e-r!!

Our health has been great!!!

I do not know the frequency of posts now, but I will determine a schedule!

 

4 thoughts on “The Longest Gap

  1. I did miss your posts but figured you were busy moving into your new nest!! That is a tremendous amount of work and I know–seems never ending! I remember opening boxes and being dumbfounded as to why I thought the contents had value and even bothered packing them!!

  2. Good to see you back up and posting.
    Very happy to hear of home coziness. Hard to tell on that kinda thing until you get your stuff in.

    • Tracy, For us it means having more than one thermostat (in the kitchen in the rental) so that if I cooked supper or baked, the rest of the house froze. And when they dug the hole here, they decided to upgrade the foundation so we got those insulated concrete forms – talk about being toasty!!! Yummmmm!!

Leave a comment