The Growth Spurt & One of My Heroes

Well the Growth spurt has commenced. Today we went over to the birthplace not expecting any changes yet.

However, to our surprise, the digger backhoe was baaaaack!  They have dug down another 3-4 feet!  Honestly, I’m relieved – I was concerned.  Evidently, a soil engineer had to sign off on the foundation.  It was he who had been out of town (hence, the delay.) They were waiting for more rock/gravel as we stopped to take pictures.  (The sun was insanely bright!)  We passed a rock truck as we left the development and Willy said,  “Betcha that’s ours!”

Deeper Digging

Moredug Deeper Digging

Here’s to our Growth Spurt beginning!!! Yay!

Now – on to my Hero…

I first discovered the Walt Longmire Series, by Craig Johnson, back in early February of 2012. It felt slightly naughty because we had pretty much decided on living in Sheridan, Wyoming at that time and we felt like it was a neat secret. Over the months we kept reading Craig Johnson’s other books and talked to friends about them. Come to find out that There was a TV series called “Longmire” that was pretty popular. Interesting!

When we came to town in August for look for a house, I became the one in charge to do fetch-its for whatever was needed. At that time i was slowing down toward a stop sign, when I pulled up behind an older blue sedan that had what looked like an election sticker for “Walt Longmire”! OMG! He LIVES – and he even has fans in Sheridan!!! (I know, inward groan!)

Since then we looked and looked for another sticker like that one. Then, today, after seeing the activity at the birthhouse we turn onto the main drag and passing us on the left was, literally,  a matte ‘cherry’ red (probably around 1956) short flatbead truck! And, on the back window was this:

Red, White & Longmire

Red, White & Longmire

I regret that I didn’t take a picture of the whole truck! It was sweet! As I gain experience with the camera, I’ll get better! Patience, Lisa!

I must admit, there is nothing better than to listen to a Walter Longmire mystery while you are driving/discovering Wyoming’s landscape!

2 thoughts on “The Growth Spurt & One of My Heroes

  1. Pingback: Craig Johnson Longmire Series. | I am an Author, I Must Auth

Leave a comment